Kyushu Kyushu is the third largest island in Japan, which is located southwest of the main Honshu Island. It is the Japanese cultural center that Kyushu offers many historical treasures, modern cities and natural beauty.
Information about Kyushu Island
Kyushu is the third largest island in Japan among the four major islands. Kyushu Island consists of seven prefectures (regions): Fukuoka, Saga, Nagasaki, Kumamoto, Oita, Miyazaki and Kagoshima. Each region is distinguished by its own personality and its beautiful places frequented by tourists from all over the world. As of 2006, Kyushu had a population of approximately 13231995, covering 35,640 square kilometers (13,760 sq mi).
Kyushu is also known to be the third largest island in Japan, surrounded by the Pacific Ocean, the Sea of ​​Japan, and the East China Sea. Kyushu has the largest number of Japan’s authentic hot spring sources, and its care of spas and onense (hot springs) are sponsored by volcanoes in the natural and dynamic region. It stops the island as the ancient gateway to the outside, which helps promote Kyushu’s culture-rich cuisine, along with world heritage and many other charming aspects. The Kyushu residents are famous for their distinguished personalities with unparalleled Japanese hospitality, with their dedication to customer service.
It is a magnificent island, with a distinctive destination beside the warmth of its people, and easy access to amazing sites, all of which combine to provide the ideal holiday destination.
Fukuoka Airport is the most popular long-haul airport for upcoming flights to Kyushu, with direct flights to / from Amsterdam (Netherlands), Bangkok (Thailand) and Beijing (China).
From Fukuoka International Airport, you can reach Fukuoka city center and other areas of Kyushu quickly and easily.

The island is a mountainous region containing the most active Japanese volcanoes, on Mount Aso, 1591 meters (5,220 feet) high, on Kyushu. There are many other signs of tectonic activity, including many areas of hot springs. Among the most famous places on the island is the eastern shore, around Mount Aso, in the center of Kyushu, where the island is separated from Honshu and the Strait of Kanmon.
The name Kyushu comes from the nine ancient regions of Saikaidō located on an island: Chikuzen, Chikugo, Hizen, Hugo, Posen, Banjo, Hyuga, Osumi, and Satsuma.
Today’s island region has become the politically defined region, which consists of the seven prefectures of Kyushu Island (which also includes former Tsushima and Waikiki as part of Nagasaki), as well as Okinawa Prefecture to the south:
North Kyushu
Fukuoka Prefecture
Nagasaki Prefecture
South Kyushu
Kagoshima Prefecture
Okinawa Prefecture

Most of Kyushu’s population is concentrated along the northwest of the country, in the cities of Fukuoka and Kitakyushu, with population corridors that extend southwest of Sasebo and Nagasaki and south in Kumamoto and Kagoshima. With the exception of Oita and Miyazaki, the east coast appears with a general decrease in population.
Residents of the surrounding cities
Fukuoka (population: 1460000)
Kitakyushu (population: 977,000)
Kumamoto (population: 730,000)
main cities

Economy and the environment
Parts of Kyushu overlook a subtropical climate. There are the main agricultural products on the island such as rice, tea, tobacco, sweet potatoes, and soybeans. Silk is also widely produced. It is noted that the island has different types of ceramics, including Amari, Satsuma and Karatsu. Heavy industries are concentrated in the north around Fukuoka, Kitakyushu, and Nagasaki, and Oita includes chemicals, cars, semiconductors, and mineral processing.
In 2010, the graduate employment rate for the region was the lowest nationwide, at 88.9%. In addition to a volcanic area in the south, there are large hot mud fountains in the northern part of the island.
Kyushu contains several major universities and colleges, including:
National universities
Kyushu University – as one of seven former “imperial universities”
Kyushu Institute of Technology
University of Saga
Nagasaki University
Kumamoto University
Fukuoka University of Education
Oita University
Miyazaki University
Kagoshima University
The National Institute of Fitness and Sports in Kanoya
Ryukyu Island University
Universities run by local governments
Kitakyushu University
Kyushu College of Dentistry
Fukuoka Universities
Provincial University of Fukuoka
Sibold Nagasaki University
Prefectural University of Nagasaki
Oita University of Nursing and Health Sciences
Kumamoto University
Miyazaki Municipal University
Miyazaki University of Nursing
Okinawa University of Art
Major private universities
Fukuoka University – The University has the largest number of students in Kyushu
Kumamoto Gakuin University
Ritsumeikan University of Asia Pacific
Kyushu Sangyo University – won the baseball team of the National Championship in 2005
University of OccuAl Bahahnal and Environmental Health
Kurumi University

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

يستخدم هذا الموقع ملفات تعريف الارتباط (كوكيز) لتوفير تجربة تصفح أفضل. عن طريق استخدام هذا الموقع، فإنك توافق على استخدامنا لملفات تعريف الارتباط.