Egypt’s monuments

| |


The pyramids, which were built between 2575 and 2465 BC, are located in the north of Egypt, specifically in Giza Governorate, west of the Nile River, and they consist of three pyramids, which are Khufu, Khafre and Menkaure, and they were previously from the Seven Wonders of the World, and in 1979 AD the pyramids were included on the list of UNESCO World Heritage sites .

Karnak Temple

The Karnak Temple, which has been a place where people have been pilgrimage for more than 4000 years, is the mother of all religious places, and it is a religious city that includes many structures such as the Sphinx whose head symbolizes the god Amun, and the area of ​​the temple is 200 acres (approximately 8 square kilometers), and it is located in Luxor governorate is on the bank of the Nile River, and Karnak Temple is considered the most popular tourist destination after the pyramids.

Abu Simbel Temple

The Temple of Abu Simbel is located in the south of Egypt in the Nuba Governorate on the west bank of Lake Nasser. The temple was built in 1265 BC during the reign of King Ramses, and the goal of its twenty-year construction was to worship the gods Ptah, Amun, Ra, and Ramses also who were Treated as a deity, the Abu Simbel temple is part of the UNESCO World Heritage Sites.

St. Catherine’s Monastery

The Monastery of Saint Catherine, built in 527 AD by the Byzantine Emperor Justinian I, is located in the Sinai Peninsula, north of Jabal Musa. The Greek Orthodox Monastery rises more than 1500 meters above the surface level. The monastery was under the authority of the Patriarch of Jerusalem, then it resigned in 1575 AD. The monastery is only 36 monks, and St. Catherine Monastery contains many precious symbols and manuscripts some of which date back to before the eighth century, and the temple was included on the UNESCO list of World Heritage sites in 2002 AD.


The largest mosaic painting in the world

The number of hanging gardens of Babylon


Leave a Comment