How many countries in the world

المسافرون العرب

Number of countries in the world

There is some disagreement over the number of countries in the world, due to the presence of some conflicts in some regions, it is possible to count the number of countries in the world by referring to the member states of the United Nations, where we find that the number of member states is 193 countries, and there are two countries that are not members of the United Nations They are: the State of Palestine, and the Vatican State, this makes the total number of countries 195, in addition to that this number does not include some regions, such as: Taiwan, and the state of South Sudan is the newest country in the world, where it obtained its independence in 2011 AD, thus it is possible Statistics of the number of countries in the world with 196 countries.

Distribution of countries by continents

Countries of the world are distributed on six continents:


Africa includes 45 countries: Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, to go, Tunisia, or Ganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Read:Guide to the most beautiful places of tourism in Italy, Rome 2022


Asia includes 44 countries: Afghanistan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei, Burma (Myanmar), Cambodia, China, East Timor, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Palestine, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, North Korea, South Korea ,, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Nepal, Sultanate of Oman, Pakistan, Philippines, Qatar, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Syria, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkey, Turkmenistan, United Arab Emirates , Uzbekistan, Vietnam, Yemen.


The continent of Europe includes 47 countries distributed there: Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romenia, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Vatican City.

North American continent

There are 23 countries on the North American continent: Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Canada, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Saint Kitts Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago, United States of America.

South American continent

The countries of the South American continent that reach 12 countries are: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay, Venezuela.

Read:Where is Abu Simbel located?

Oceania continent

This continent includes 14 countries: Australia, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, New Zealand, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu.

The largest country in the world

Russia is the largest country in the world by area, covering an area of ​​about 16,377,742 square kilometers of land, and 720,500 square kilometers of water, and a total area of ​​17,098,242 km, and shares its land borders with 14 countries: Belarus, Lithuania, Latvia, and Estonia Finland, Norway, Poland, Kazakhstan, Ukraine, North Korea, China, Mongolia, Azerbaijan, and Georgia.

Previous post
The largest Moroccan city
Next post
The most famous cities of Algeria
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments