Madain Saleh

| |

Madain Saleh

Madain Saleh is an archaeological site located in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia in the northwestern part of it in an area called Al-Ula, which is a governorate affiliated with the city in Medina. Madain Saleh was known in the past as the “City of Hajar” where this name dates back to Diyar Thamud located in Medina and Tabuk, And their hatred was mentioned in the Qur’an. They were those who answered the call of the Prophet Saleh and then barred the camel that God sent, so the shout took them.

Al-Madaen occupies a distinct strategic location on the road that brings together the countries of Egypt, the Levant, Mesopotamia, and the Arabian Peninsula, where this site occupies great commercial importance because it is a commercial road that connects between the Arabian Peninsula and the Levant, and the cities contain the largest settlement after Petra in the southern region, which It belongs to the Kingdom of the Nabataeans, where they are separated by a distance of 500 km, and the civilized history of the cities of Saleh dates back to the period in which the Nabataean state flourished in the first centuries BC and the first century AD before its fall at the hands of the Roman Empire in 106 AD, and Madain Saleh includes 153 rocky façades from In addition to many Lotte Islamic monuments.

Monuments in Madain Saleh

  • Al-Mahjar Mountain Cemeteries: These are three rock masses containing fourteen Nabataean tombs carved in them, and the cities of Al-Mahjar Mountain are known as “Area A”.
  • Al-Bint Palace Tombs: It consists of two mountains, where the first mountain contains 31 tombs, which extends from the north to the south, while the second mountain is small and contains two tombs and is located on the northwestern side in relation to the first mountain, and the Al-Bint Palace tombs are called “Area B”.
  • The Red Mountain Tombs: They are two rock masses, the first contains 18 tombs, and the second contains only one tomb, and it is known as “Area C”.
  • Al-Khuraymat tombs: They are nine mountains containing 53 burials, as the first mountain contains 5 burials bearing numbers from (50-54), and the second mountain includes burial number 49 only, and the third mountain contains only one burial number 55, while The fourth mountain contains seven burials of No. (56-62), the fifth mountain also contains sixteen burials, the sixth contains one burial, the seventh contains sixteen burials, and the eighth contains five burials, while the ninth mountain contains only one burial.
  • Burials of Zone D: It consists of two mountains, each of which contains one burial. These burials are located in the Al-Sanea Palace area.
  • Al-Sanea Palace: It consists of two rock blocks, where the Western Rock contains one tomb, whose upper balcony is marked by a staircase that ends at the bottom of it with a cornice, as well as it contains Nabatian crowns and a separator.
  • Qasr Al-Farid: It was called this name because it is located alone in a separate rock block, as it is characterized by its Nabataean architectural structure with a rock facade and side pillars.
  • Residential area landfills.

Archeology in the cities of Turkey

American Landmarks


Leave a Comment