Table of Contents

The Seven Wonders of the World

It is a group of world archaeological sites, which are considered of great historical importance, because of their distinct design, in their architectural construction, which has an important role in making them one of the wonders of the world, and therefore each of them is called a wonder, that is, the unusual thing, which It is unlike anything else, whether in its components or the nature of its appearance, and the Seven Wonders of the World were divided into two parts: the ancient wonders and the modern wonders.

Ancient wonders

It is the first seven wonders of the world, adopted by the archaeological, heritage and world heritage sites. It includes the following wonders:

Lighthouse of Alexandria

It is located in the Arab Republic of Egypt, and was built between the years 285 – 247 BC, and was built during the reign of Ptolemy I, by a Greek architect, and it was considered the tallest building in the world, with a height of 117 meters, and the lighthouse is characterized by the rigidity of its construction and its beautiful design, so it was considered One of the Seven Wonders of the World.

Hanging Gardens of Babylon

It is located in the Republic of Iraq, and was built in the year 600 BC, during the reign of the king of Babylon Nebuchadnezzar, which he presented as a gift to his wife, and these gardens surrounded the water tunnels extending from the Euphrates River, and eight gates were built for it, and the Ishtar Gate from the famous gates in it, and planted in many Of the types of trees, which bear fruit, in all seasons of the year.

The Great Pyramid

It is located in the Arab Republic of Egypt, in the Giza region, and it is called (the pyramid of Khufu), and it was built in the year 2560 BC, so that it will be a shrine for the pharaonic king Khufu, and it is considered the only ancient wonder that still exists to this day, and it was believed to be the tallest building in the world More than two million stones were used in its construction.

Artemis Temple

It is located in Turkey, and it was built in 550 BC, in honor of the god Artemis in Greece, and it contained one hundred and twenty columns and bronze statues, and it was burned in 356 BC, and then a temple similar to it was rebuilt, but it was burned again in 262 BCE, and only a few parts and archaeological remains remain.

The Statue of Zois

It is located in Greece, was built in 432 BC, and the statue was made of ivory, and the cloak placed on it was sewn from gold thread, and its base is made of marble, and it is the only thing left of it.

Rodos Statue

It is located in Greece, was built in 282 BC, and construction work continued for 12 years, and it has been present on the island of Rhodes for 65 years, and when the island was exposed in earthquake in 226 BC, the statue was completely destroyed.

Mausolus Mausoleum

It is located in Turkey, it was built between the years 370 – 350 B.C., during the reign of King Musulus, and it is said that the king’s wife supervised its construction, consisting of rectangular tiles, decorated with reliefs, and many statues, and the shrine remained present for 16 centuries, to That it was destroyed by earthquakes.

Modern wonders

It is a group of wonders that recently emerged and relied on the vote of the peoples of the world, through an idea launched by a website called (The Seven New Wonders), which managed to list many archaeological sites, located all over the world, to choose seven new sites, to be called The New Seven Wonders of the World, and the following sites managed to win the vote, which are:

Taj Mahal

It is located in India, in the city of Agra, and is a shrine built by Sultan Shah Jahan for his wife, and was completed in the year 1653 AD, and it is considered one of the beautiful buildings in India, which is characterized by its design according to Islamic architecture.


The Romen amphitheater, located in Italy, with its capital in Rome, and used for wrestling matches, is considered one of the important tourist sites in Italy, and it was built in the year 72 AD.


An ancient city called (The Rose City), located in the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan, near the city of Maan, and considered one of the distinguished cultural achievements, and it was the capital of the Nabateans, and its construction dates back to the sixth century BC, and it was a distinguished commercial center, due to its middle location in the Levant It was discovered by a Swiss explorer in 1812.

Machu Picchu

A city located in Peru, in the Andes Mountains region, and built in the fifteenth century, by the Inca people, and discovered in the twentieth century by an American explorer, called the Lost City, distinguished by its beautiful nature, and its presence on a very high area.

Christ the Redeemer Statue

It is located in Brazil in the city of Rio de Janeiro, designed by the Brazilian artist Hitor Costa, and it is located in the fifth rank, as the tallest statue of Christ – peace be upon him – in the world.

Chichen Itza Pyramid

It is located in Mexico, on the island of Yucatan, and was built by the Mayan civilization, between 900 – 600 BC, and was found in the nineteenth century AD, and was covered with a dense amount of plants, so no one noticed its existence before that.

Great Wall of China

It is located in China, and it is the largest existing wall in the world. It was built in 206 BC and was used to protect the land of China from invading enemies, and because of its long stretch it penetrates the surrounding mountains, surrounded by many forests and trees, which add to it a beautiful view.

Video of the ancient seven wonders of the world

Learn about the ancient Seven Wonders of the World and their locations:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

يستخدم هذا الموقع ملفات تعريف الارتباط (كوكيز) لتوفير تجربة تصفح أفضل. عن طريق استخدام هذا الموقع، فإنك توافق على استخدامنا لملفات تعريف الارتباط.