The capital of the island of Malta

| |

Island of Malta

Malta is one of the islands belonging to the European continent, and it is officially known as the Republic of Malta, and it is located geographically in the waters of the Mediterranean Sea, specifically near Libya, Italy, and Tunisia, and in the southern side of the island of Sicily, and is located astronomically on a longitude 14.45 degrees east of the Greenwich Line, And on a latitude of 35,883 degrees north of the equator, it is also one of the islands with a small area, as its land area is 316 km2, and it rises above sea level 253 meters, and it is divided administratively into 68 municipalities, of which 54 are located on the island of Malta, and 14 municipalities in Gozo And its system of government is a parliamentary republic, and the official currency is the euro.

The capital of the island of Malta

Valletta is considered the administrative and political capital of the island of Malta, as it is one of the largest cities in it with an area of ​​0.8 km², and rises above sea level 56 meters, and has been ruled over the history and eras of many nations and civilizations such as the Phoenicians, the Greeks, the Romans, the Arabs, the Carthaginians, and the Byzantines Also, it was closely related to the system of Saint John of Jerusalem.

Residents of the island of Malta

The population of the population according to statistics in 2013 AD is 423,282 thousand people, and its inhabitants speak the Maltese language, which is the official language on the island in addition to the English language, while religion owes most of its population to the Christian religion.

Information about the island of Malta

  • Humans inhabited it in the Stone Age, specifically in 5200 B.C., and the first inhabited by human groups that came from Sicily.
  • Malta belongs to the United Nations, the International Finance Corporation, the Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency, the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development, the International Center for Advisory Dispute Resolution, the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe and international institutions such as the Commonwealth of Nations and the Council of Europe.
  • Its GDP reached 11.260 billion US dollars, according to the estimates of the year 2012 AD, and its economy depends on the manufacturing industries sector, the fishing sector, the mining sector, livestock and the tourism sector.
  • Malta is known for its Mediterranean climate, which falls within the semi-tropical regions. It was characterized by droughts and high temperatures in the summer and warm in the winter.
  • The vocabulary of the Maltese language is taken from several languages, such as Italian, Latin, and Sicilian, and the number of the letters is thirty characters.
  • It contains many tourist, historical and archaeological sites, the most prominent of which are:
    • Lake Blue Bay: It is located between the main islands of Malta, specifically in the small village of Comino.
    • Medina: It was built seven thousand years ago BC.
    • Old castle: Located in the city of Victoria.
    • Hopgyum Temple: Consists of corridors, rooms and halls cut into rocks.
    • Maliha Bay: It features the longest sandy beach.
    • Other parameters: Godesh Island, Golden Bay, Malta Classic Car Collection Museum, St. John’s Cooperative Cathedral, and Lascaris Shelters for Wars.

What is the capital of the state of Tunisia

Capitals of the Arab Maghreb countries


Leave a Comment