What is the capital of Ecuador

| |

The city of Quito

Quito is the capital of Ecuador, and is the second largest city, and Guayaquil is the only major city in Ecuador. It is also the cultural, educational and political center of Ecuador; it is the official seat of the government of Ecuador; As this city contains the most important institutions, and official government offices in Ecuador.

The geographical and astronomical location of Quito

Quito is located geographically north of central Ecuador, specifically on the lower slopes of the Pichincha volcano, whose last eruption was in 1666 AD in the narrow Andes valley, with an altitude of 2,850 meters above sea level, or astronomically, this city is located just south of the equator; It is located on the latitude (-0.23), and on the longitude (-78.52).

It is important to mention that the capital, Quito, is the only capital in the world with the closest contact with the equator, and it is also the country with the highest elevation above sea level among the official capitals of the countries of the world.

About the inhabitants of Quito

Quito is administratively dependent on the province of Pichincha, and is the most populous city, with a population of 1,399,814 people, knowing that most of these residents are Native Americans. It should be noted that Quito is also the capital of this region.

Stops in the history of Quito

The capital, Quito, has been through many historical events, the following are the most important of them:

  • The empire of the Incas seized the city of Quito, and made it its capital, and after several decades arrived by the Spanish explorer Sebastian de Penalcazar, this city was subject to the control of Spain, in the year 1534 AD.
  • Quito was declared the capital of Ecuador on the fifth of March 1541 A.D.
  • Ecuador’s independence document from Spain was signed in 1809 AD.
  • Quito remained the focal point of national, political, social and economic affairs in Ecuador until the early twentieth century, when economic domination shifted to the city of Guayaquil.
  • The recent history witnessed the selection of the capital, Quito, as the headquarters of the Union of South American Nations, in 2008.


What is the capital of the state of Nigeria

What is the capital of Austria and the Czech Republic


Leave a Comment