What is the capital of Morocco

| |

Morocco, West, sunset

Morocco is officially known (Morocco: English) officially as the Kingdom of Morocco, and it is a country located in the continent of Africa near Europe, Morocco is about 20 miles from the Strait of Gibraltar, and Moroccan cities are distinguished by being a mix between modern and traditional cities that appear in the cultural landmarks scattered in the land of Morocco It contains many ancient historical streets and folk markets that are part of its civilized history, especially for offering a range of handicrafts, textiles, jewelry and other popular products, and different types of food where they are prepared on the The authentic Moroccan method, which is an important part of the Moroccan civilization.

The capital of Morocco

The city of Rabat is the capital of Morocco, and it is located on the western side of the coast of the Atlantic Ocean, and at the site of Rabat in the past was the first settlement of the Romans on the land of Morocco, then the Berbers came and established the first cultural monuments to it, but the twelfth century is considered the era in which the city of Rabat was actually established And it was subordinate to Islamic rule, as it was ruled by the Almohads who built on its land many distinctive monuments, which included palaces, buildings, and markets, which led to its rapid development.

In 1609 AD, Rabat became a mixed community between the indigenous people and the Andalusian Arab immigrants from Spain, and when the French occupation came to Morocco, the entire city came under the French colony, and it and the rest of the Moroccan cities remained dependent on the occupation of France until Morocco gained its independence, and Rabat was chosen to become the administrative capital.


Moroccan history contains a group of important historical events, especially in the phase of Islamic rule for it, and its rulers punished many rulers who were able to unify its lands, preserve its society, and contribute to its development, but in the seventeenth century CE civil wars appeared on Moroccan soil This led the Spaniards to seek to occupy part of it, which led to its division into more than one emirate and state.
Upon the establishment of the rule of the Alawite state in Morocco, it was able to unify the Moroccan territories, so Prince Muhammad bin Sharif was appointed governor, and he is considered the first to set the first rules for the Kingdom of Morocco, and during his rule he managed to control many areas in Morocco, after which his brother recovered the rest of the The cities, such as Marrakesh, and Fez, and then Morocco were ruled by Sultan Muhammad, who chose the city of Marrakesh to become the capital of the state, and was interested in building palaces in it, and strengthening the strength of the Moroccan army, especially the navy.
After France occupied Algeria and Morocco supported the Algerians against the French occupation, in 1844 the French forces attacked the seaports of Morocco, but the Tangier Treaty was signed with France, which led to the restoration of the Moroccan ports. In the year 1860 AD, the Spanish city of Tetouan came under attack, so Britain intervened in exchange for concessions in Morocco, and then many other European countries followed, and revolutions emerged inside Morocco, which all demanded the end of all the special privileges of European countries, but that in the Madrid conference in 1880 AD it was announced Those countries for not giving up their privileges.
In 1911 AD, the joint French and Spanish forces occupied many Moroccan cities and regions, and in 1912 AD France officially declared its occupation of Morocco, and revolutions appeared in various Moroccan regions that demanded the withdrawal of the French forces, and the restoration of Morocco’s independence, and after many protests that included all the Moroccan territories, France recognized The independence of Morocco, and the establishment of the monarchy on its soil on March 2, 1956 AD.

Geographical topography

The total geographical area of ​​Morocco is 710,850 km², and it is bordered on the southern and eastern sides of Algeria, either on the south side of Mauritania, and on the north by the Mediterranean Sea, or on the western side by the Atlantic Ocean. The geographical topography of Morocco is divided into a group of regions:

  • Low coastal landsThese are the areas that lie along the coasts of both the Atlantic and the Mediterranean, and these lands rise to form a plateau that connects with the mountain areas, while low lands get water that helps irrigate crops through the rivers that pass through them, so this region is considered one of the most Producing regions for agriculture in Morocco.
  • Atlas Mountain RangeIt is divided into two parts:
    • Coastal Mountains: It is located near the Mediterranean, and it is called the coastal coastal mountains, as it is known as the countryside.
    • Inner mountains: They are located in the interior, and they are called the inner mountains of Atlas, and they are known as the Atlas Mountains.
  • the desert: It is the arid regions located on the eastern and southern sides of the Atlas Mountains, and most of its lands are covered with sand, gravel and crumbs.
  • Plains: The flat areas that form some heights, and are characterized by the quality of their soils. The most famous of these are the Meknes Plains, the Marrakesh Plains, and the Fez Plains, and are separated from each other by a group of swamps and other geographical areas.
  • Rivers: It is one of the most common forms of geographical topography that characterize Morocco, as many river networks spread from the tributaries that link with the Mediterranean and the Atlantic Ocean, and most of them originate from the regions of the Atlas Mountains.


The estimated number of the Moroccan population is approximately 33,655,786 million, and the Arabs and Berbers constitute the largest proportion of the Moroccan population by about 99%, with groups of minorities living on Moroccan soil. The Arabic language is the official language of Morocco, with the Berber population using the Berber language as the language associated with their heritage and culture, and the French language is used as a secondary language, especially in the business and diplomatic fields.


What is the capital of Uganda

What is the capital of Poland


Leave a Comment