What is the name of the capital of Sri Lanka

| |

The capital of Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka has two capitals: Sri Jayawardenepura Kotte, which is the administrative capital, the seat of the national legislature, and Colombo City, which is the commercial capital of the country. Sri Jayawardenapura Kotte has been designated as the administrative capital of the country by the government, to try to confront the problem of crowding In the capital, Colombo, these two capitals represent the largest urban areas in the country, with a combined population of approximately 800,000 people.

The city of Colombo

The city of Colombo is located on the west coast of the island, south of the River Kelani, and it has a major port connected to the Indian Ocean, and handles the majority of foreign trade to Sri Lanka. Portuguese since the sixteenth century, in addition to the Cinnamon Gardens, a residential and recreational area.

About Colombo

The city of Colombo can be identified by the following facts:

  • The city of Colombo is famous for having the largest artificial ports in the world, as the foreign trade of Sri Lanka passes through this port.
  • Sri Lanka’s large industries include food, tobacco, minerals, engineering, chemical manufacturing, textiles, glass, cement, leather goods, furniture and jewelry.
  • The city of Colombo has an oil refinery located on the outskirts of the city, in addition to being considered the financial center of Sri Lanka.

The city of Sri Jayawardenepura Kotte

Sri Jayewardenepura Kotte is Sri Lanka’s legislative capital, located in the southwestern part of the country, eight kilometers southeast of the commercial capital, Colombo. The city has an area of ​​approximately 17 square kilometers, which is an urban site, It includes the main government buildings on a small island located on Lake Diwana Oi. The city also has a tropical rainforest climate, so that temperatures rise throughout the year, and although it witnesses a wet season and a dry season, the rainfall is not less than 60 mm in all months. .

About Sri Jaywardnapura Kotte

The city of Sri Jayawardenepura Kotte can be identified by the following facts:

  • Sri Jayawardenapura Kotte was established in the 14th century, and was the official capital of the Sinhalese Kingdom of Kota until the 16th century.
  • Sri Jayawardenepura Kotte was designated as the official capital of Sri Lanka in 1977 AD, and the new Parliament was opened in the city in 1982.
  • Sri Jayawardenepura Kotte includes Sri Jayawardenapura University, and is one of the leading higher institutions in the country.


What is the capital of the Republic of Ireland

What is the capital of the Philippines


Leave a Comment