Table of Contents

Beirut, the capital of Lebanon

Beirut is the political capital of the Lebanese Republic and the largest city in it. Statistics for the 2007 census of Lebanon indicate that the city has a population of more than two million, and Perota was mentioned in the tablets of Tel el-Amarna, which is a Phoenician word meaning wells, and some historical books have included historical names such as Peretz Or Beirutos or Beruwah, and in Greek literature the city is named after Peritos, as the word Beirut means in the supreme sense pine found in the forests, and the reason for its name is due to the fact that it is located near a large coniferous forest known today as the bush or embarrassment of Beirut.

Geography of Beirut

Beirut is located on a peninsula that heads in the western direction towards the Mediterranean Sea, 94 km from the northern common border between the State of Lebanon and the occupied lands of Palestine. It is bordered to the east by a series of western Lebanese mountains. The city’s beach varies, it is rocky in the north, and sandy in the south.

Climate in Beirut

The weather in the city is moderate, as it is characterized by hot and dry summers, moderate spring and autumn, and cold, rainy winters. August is the most free month of the year, with an average temperature of about 29 ° C, and February and January are considered the coldest months of the year, where the average temperature The temperature is around 10 ° C, and the average annual rainfall in the city is about 860 mm, as most of this level falls in the winter, and a little in the spring and autumn.

Culture in Beirut

The city contains a diverse mix of cultures because of the lives of different types of people in it since ancient times, such as the Romens, Arabs, Turks, French and Greek, for this reason, the scholars divide Beirut culture into three sections: the culture of the Mediterranean basin, the Arab-Islamic culture, European culture, Beirut is the capital of the UN Global Book 2009.

Residential neighborhoods in Beirut

Beirut contains thirteen neighborhoods: Madwar, Al-Rumail, Al-Saifi, Al-Marisa, Al-Jalatamah, Al-Ashrafiya, Al-Bashoura, Al-Mazraa, Al-Musaitiba, Dar Al-Mraiseh, Al-Manashi Al-Balad, and Zaqat Al-Balat, and Beirut Port , Ras Beirut neighborhood, and Mina Al Hosn district.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

يستخدم هذا الموقع ملفات تعريف الارتباط (كوكيز) لتوفير تجربة تصفح أفضل. عن طريق استخدام هذا الموقع، فإنك توافق على استخدامنا لملفات تعريف الارتباط.