Table of Contents


Cairo is the capital of the Egyptian Arab Republic, located in the northeastern side of Egypt, on the eastern shore of the banks of a river, away from the Aswan High Dam, about 800 square kilometers, and is the main gateway to the Nile River Delta, Cairo is one of the most important Egyptian cities; its population Approximately 20 and a half million people, it is one of the largest Arab cities, it was known in the past as the city of a thousand hundreds, and because of the many mosques in it, al-Mu`izz of the Fatimid Religion of God is considered the first to establish the city of Cairo in order to be its capital, the importance of the city stems from its strategic location located at The head of the delta is important In terms of interconnection between the Delta and Upper Egypt and between the eastern and western plateau.

The reason for naming Cairo

The founding of the city of Cairo dates back to the Fatimid era, when the Caliph al-Mu’izz of the Fatimid Religion issued orders to the Commander Johar al-Skalli to create a city to be the capital of the Fatimid state and that was in the year 969 AD; This is due to his belief in the blessed planet Mars, the omnipotent planet, and the city of Cairo was famous for many names in ancient times, including: the thousand minarets, the guarded city of Egypt, and Cairo Moez.

Administrative divisions of Cairo

Cairo includes five new cities: New Cairo, Al-Shorouk and Badr City. It is served by five departments of the police divided into these cities. It also includes four main vital areas:
  • Northern region: This region includes eight Egyptian neighborhoods.
  • Eastern region: This region includes nine Egyptian neighborhoods.
  • Western region: This region includes nine Egyptian neighborhoods.
  • Southern region: This region includes twelve Egyptian neighborhoods.

The main sights in Cairo

Cairo has many historical and archeological attractions. Among the most important of these are:

  • Tahrir Square: It is one of the largest squares in the city of Cairo, it was called the Ismailia Square, according to Khedive Ismail, then his name changed in 1919 AD to Tahrir Square; because of their liberation from colonialism and their independence, Tahrir Square is a symbol of the freedom of peoples.
  • Egyptian Museum: The museum is located in the middle of Tahrir Square, was founded in 1896 AD, was designed in a modern classic style that fits and merges with the ancient and classical antiquities, the museum is characterized by the height of a ceiling and the wide areas of its halls, and a ceiling made of glass that allows sunlight to enter the museum. Many ancient ruins.
  • Cairo Tower: They started establishing it in 1956 AD and finished working on it in 1961 AD, the tower is located in the center of Cairo on the island of Zamalek in the Nile River, the height of the tower is about 187 meters, the top of the tower includes a tourist restaurant that is characterized as a roundabout so that visitors can see all the features of Cairo, made of reinforced concrete, similar to The tower in its design is the Egyptian lotus flower.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

يستخدم هذا الموقع ملفات تعريف الارتباط (كوكيز) لتوفير تجربة تصفح أفضل. عن طريق استخدام هذا الموقع، فإنك توافق على استخدامنا لملفات تعريف الارتباط.