Tonga Islands

| |

Tonga Islands

The Tonga Islands are located in the southwestern Pacific Ocean, and they are made up of about 170 islands divided into three main island groups: Tongatapu in the south, Hayabay in the center, and Favau in the north.
These islands include only 45 inhabited islands, and Tonga is considered a constitutional monarchy, and it is also the only country in the South Pacific that has not been colonized before. Birth, and there was no contact from Europe until 1616 AD, when the Dutch ship Anderakht stopped to trade, and it was Taufahau Topo IV that united the Kingdom of Tonga in 1845 AD, and with the help of English missionary Shirley Valdemar Baker, Tonga was transformed into a constitutional monarchy.

Geography of Tonga Islands

The Tonga Islands are located two-thirds of the way from New Zealand to Hawaii, and they are located under Western Samoa. The islands do not have any land borders with any country, but the closest islands include Fiji, Wallis, and Futuna from the northwest, Samoa from the northeast, and Niue from the east , Kermadec to the southwest, New Caledonia and Vanuatu to the far west, the islands consist of two types of terrain: limestone that covers the volcanic bottom, and a limestone base made of coral formations.

The climate in mow Tonga

Tonga has a subtropical climate, with the exception of the northern islands where real tropical conditions prevail, and temperatures range between 16 and 21 degrees Celsius in June and July, and reach about 27 degrees Celsius in December and January, with an average annual humidity of 77 The average annual precipitation is about 1,620 mm in the Habai group to 2,450 mm on the island of Naifu, and humidity increases with the lower distance from the equator, and the northern islands are closest to the equator most vulnerable to tropical cyclones, which generally occur Between December and April.


Information on the Maldives

The most beautiful islands of Greece


Leave a Comment