What is the capital of Nigeria

| |


Nigeria (English: Nigeria), officially known as the Federal Republic of Nigeria (English: Federal Republic of Nigeria), is a country located in the west of the continent of Africa, bordered on the west by the Republic of Benin, while it is bordered on the east by Cameroon, while on the north it is bordered by the State of Niger, It overlooks the Gulf of Guinea from the south.

Nigeria is the largest country on the continent of Africa in terms of population, and the eighth largest country in the world in terms of population; with a population of 186,053,386 people in 2016, Nigeria is characterized by the presence of more than 250 ethnic groups in it, and more than 500 languages ​​of indigenous languages It is spoken in it. As for its official language, it is the English language, 50% of its population adheres to the religion of Islam, while 40% of them embrace Christianity, and 10% of them embrace local beliefs.

Abuja is the capital of Nigeria

Abuja is the capital of the Republic of Nigeria. It is located in the center of the country and is called the Federal Capital. It is a modern city that started its construction and construction in the eighties of the last century to be chosen as the civilized capital of the country after 1991 AD instead of the city of Lagos, the capital of the Republic in the past. Lagos replaced it for a number of reasons, including political reasons related to the political unrest that prevailed in the country at the time, as well as population reasons as a result of a population explosion that the city cannot accommodate as a capital, in addition to other logistical reasons. The city of Abuja is divided into five main provinces, which are: Maitama County, Asukuru Province, Jarki Province, Wausi District, and central provinces. As for the most important neighborhoods, the Karoo district, the Kubua district, the Jokoy district, and the Gwagolda district.

Abuja Geography

Abuja is located in the central part of the Federal Capital Territory of Abuja, approximately 480 km to the northeast of Lagos (the old capital of Nigeria), located on the hills of “Chukuku”, and the city is located at an altitude of 360 meters above sea level. Abuja has a tropical climate, characterized by a rainy summer, while the rain rate decreases in winter, the annual temperature in the capital is 25.7 ° C, while the average annual rainfall is 1389 mm annually, and the highest average temperatures are in April, where the average temperatures It is 28.5 ° C, while the lowest temperatures are in August, with an average of 23.9 ° C.

History of Abuja

The city of Abuja is currently located in the southwestern part of the Kingdom of Zazu (Zarya) and was inhabited by several independent tribes, the largest of which is the Gwari tribe. In the nineteenth century AD, the Kingdom of Zarya fell into the hands of the Fulans. It is called abbreviated as “Abu”, but “Ja” means red or light-skinned, a title given to him due to the color of his light skin. Abu Ja established the Kingdom of Abuja, and the Kingdom soon became a major center for commercial exchange, and it was a strong kingdom whose inhabitants could defend against Aggression was one of Doe’s tribes, and it was not under occupation Such as neighboring areas.
Abuja was exposed in the year 1902 AD to the British occupation, which reorganized the kingdom and called it Emirates, and the British occupation continued until 1975 AD, but it was politically stable, and in this period the city of Lagos was the capital of Nigeria, but the problems that appeared in it called for the necessity of choosing another capital in The same year, after examining 33 sites, the Emirate of Abuja was chosen as the capital of its strategic location, suitable climate, healthy atmosphere, water resources, security, fertile soil, ethnic harmony among its inhabitants, and other features that it enjoys.
The emir of Abuja Altay Suleiman Al Bara was asked to agree to grant 4 out of 5 provinces of the emirate to form the new capital, and after negotiations, Abuja granted 80% of its lands to form the new capital, while the state of Plateau granted 16% of its lands, and the state of Quara was given about 4% of its lands Thus, the Federal Capital Territory was formed, and the Emirate of Abuja was asked to change its name to the Federal Capital of Abuja, and it was believed at that time that it would gain international fame, and the Emirate of Abuja was called Solega.

Abuja Landmarks

In Abuja, the Nigerian capital, there are many landmarks, public parks, parks, and lots of green spaces, in addition to the many religious monuments that represent the multiplicity of religions in the capital, among the most prominent of these are:

  • Abuja National Mosque: This mosque was built in the eighties of the last century, and it is located in the Independence region, and it has a golden dome, and reflects the sunlight in a beautiful way, which makes it one of the most prominent features of the capital, and the mosque has a library, a religious school, and a conference hall.
  • Millennium ParkIt is the largest green park in Abuja, and covers an area of ​​approximately 32 hectares. This park is located in Maitama County, and it was opened in 2003 by Queen Elizabeth II of the United Kingdom.
  • Zuma rock and Aso rockThese two rocks form two massive geological features located in the heart of the capital Abuja, and they bear great symbolic importance for the city or the Nigerian people, and the height of the Zuma rock is 750 meters above the level of the surrounding plains, while the height of the Aso rock is 400 meters above the level of the surrounding city.
  • Magic Land ParkIt is a large amusement park in Abuja, where thousands of people flock to enjoy its facilities and relax, and was formerly called “Wonder Land Park”, located next to the city gate.
  • Abuja Cathedral: It is also called “the Cathedral of Our Lady of Nigeria”, and this cathedral started as a drugstore in 1978 AD, and in 1980 AD the place began to be used as a place of worship for Catholics and evangelicals; Catholics used it in the morning and then evangelicals used it in the evening.


What is the capital of Vietnam

Where is the city of Bisha?


Leave a Comment