What is a Schengen visa

| |

Schengen area

Schengen Area, is the region that hosts twenty-six European countries, whose combined area extends to 4312099 km2, and its population reaches 400 million people, and this region was found on the sidelines of an agreement that came to cancel passports and immigration controls among them, and countries under the name of this region are considered as One country, with a joint visa policy between them.

The agreement worked to abolish the internal borders between the twenty-six members, and twenty-two of them are European Union countries, and the remaining four are European Free Trade Association countries, and these countries are legally obligated to join the Schengen area.

Schengen visa

It is an agreement signed by a number of European countries to allow among themselves to cancel the checks and borders between them. This agreement also imposes special provisions on states regarding the matter of temporary entry of individuals to the Schengen area countries, and the dimensions of this agreement are compatible with the control of external borders.

The conclusion of the Schengen Agreement dates back to the fourteenth of June of the year 1985 AD, and European countries supervised Belgium, France, West Germany, Luxembourg and the Netherlands to sign this document, and Belgium, France, Germany, Sweden, the Netherlands, Portugal and Spain were among the first countries to implement the Schengen agreement.

Get a Schengen visa

The Schengen agreement to obtain it collectively requires that the number of individuals ranges between 5-50 people, and this collective visa obliges them to move with each other and enter and exit, and is often granted to tourist groups and sports teams.

To be able to obtain a Schengen visa, this requires you to visit the consulate of the country you intend to visit to obtain a visa application, but if you wish to visit more than one country within the Schengen area, it requires you to obtain a visa from the consulate of the main destination, ie the country in which you will reside More than others.

Types of Schengen visa

  • A transit visa at airport A: It is a visa that allows travelers to travel through international airports without using the airports of any region outside the Schengen area.
  • Transit visa B: It is the visa that gives the traveler the ability and approval to move for a maximum period of five days within the Schengen areas by car, train or airport.
  • Circulation visa C: This visa is considered to give the traveler the longest period of travel and tourism in the Schengen area with a period ranging between 90-180 days, and it can also reach a year if the purpose is work.
  • Long stay visa D: It is the visa that enables the traveler to stay in the Schengen area for study or work purposes, and its duration is more than 90 days.

Tourism in Europe

Traveling to France


Leave a Comment